Dutch!!!!

2 replies to this topic
  • 426fred

Posted February 25, 2002 - 10:46 PM

Hey Dutch,

how did You hook that GPS up to Your WR? I have a WR426 that I want to hook up my Garmin II+ to - and beeing a total novice when it comes to electronics, any help is appreciated.
What parts do I need? where to find power? etc, etc.
Can I do as Tman did on his XR650, and have a remote battery and charge it, to use for my GPS when I kill the engine?

///426Fred

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Dutch

Posted February 26, 2002 - 03:33 AM

Hey Fred!
In order to power a GPS from your 426 you need to have your stator rewound. Baja Designs is one place that can do that,(around $100.00 I think).
On my WR I put a 12 volt rechargable battery that could power the GPS for 24 hours. When I put the bike away for the night I'd hook it up to the charger. Worked great. On the 650R you don't need to rewind the stator to power the GPS - but mine is at Baja now because it bumps it up from 80 to 250 watts! Where I live,(Northern Michigan), I'll be using an electric vest to extend the riding season. How is your riding season over in Stockholm?

• 426fred

Posted February 26, 2002 - 03:59 AM

Hi Dutch,