XR600 or XR400?

5 replies to this topic
  • Abomb

Posted February 22, 2002 - 07:44 AM

I'm trying to figure out which bike would be better for me. I'm selling my ATV and will be getting either an XR400 or XR600. I have 12 years experience riding cycles and will mostly be riding woods type trails. 6'3" and about 190 pounds. Right now my choice is between a 99 XR400 all stock or a 95 XR600 stock other than a Supertrapp exhaust, speedometer and street licensed. Both are in excellent condition and the 600 is about $400 cheaper than the 400. Anyone have any suggestions???

• ossagp1

Posted February 22, 2002 - 08:23 AM

I have owned several xr500's and 600's and love them. I have never owned an xr400 but for what you have described I would spend the extra money on the more current 400. we are about the same size, and I have ridden the 400 in the woods and it is way better there than any of my 600's were and it is as fast as my 500's. For desert etc tho I will still take my 600's.

• MaXRSmart

Posted February 22, 2002 - 08:48 AM

If you are planning to do any dual-sport riding, get the 600 because the seat is like a couch. I never get monkey butt riding my 600 on really long rides. The 600 has great power but is a little heavy for the tight stuff. If you like tight woods riding and want a light more nimble bike, go for the 400.

MaXRSmart :)

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Woodzi

Posted February 22, 2002 - 08:57 AM

Do you prefer power or handling? The 600 has good power, but is a bit of a handful in really tight going (although it works a lot better than you would expect for a 280+ LB machine). With your size this will be less of an issue. The 400 has enough power to do the job and handles the tight stuff really well. I am the same size as you and I prefer the 600 because of the power, butI think most people like the 400 better.

Both are great bikes.

• Abomb