12 replies to this topic

Posted September 16, 2004 - 11:36 AM

I've almost have my 450 complete. I want to put a little armor on her though. I'm looking at skidplates and boot guards from Devol in aluminum,& E line in carbon fiber. Anyone have some experience with either. I know it's kind of a dummy part, but I would be curious to see how well the carbon really holds up, or if it's just a pretty little add on. The carbon looks cool, but I don't give a poo about look, I want to save my case when I come up short on Michigan rocks.

Thanks all.

Oh yeah, the skid plate will be in direct contact with my Ultimate MX hauler. The bikes weight and two clamps snug the bike to a nylon tray. Any conceivable issue with that setup?

• r_dawg1021

Posted September 16, 2004 - 12:04 PM

I have no experience with the setup you're speaking of but IMHO carbon is more for looks than being a suitable application. I prefer to put it on things that arent gonna be pounded by the environment. I only know of street bike fiber, maybe the dirt stuff is made differently? :thumbsup: Good luck though, sounds like either way you go you'll do it right.

• stink

Posted September 16, 2004 - 12:56 PM

I have a similar dilemma. I am going for the Utah sport skid guard.

Pretty good deal on this site. Good luck S.

• ryder

Posted September 16, 2004 - 04:29 PM