very impressed with the 05 YZf 450

11 replies to this topic
  • ecmx

Posted September 13, 2004 - 11:02 AM

Ive been racing kawis for 6 years now and decided to try a different brand .I bought a yzf450 and i think the bike is alot better than the 04 model .It has less bottom but it is more usable and the power is controlable .Gots to say some one at yamaha did some research .Still waiting for the 05 yz250f to come in

• YZ250F_Rider

Posted September 13, 2004 - 11:35 AM

It has less bottom but it is more usable and the power is controlable

yep it's slow all right. :devil:

At least they sell performance cdi's for 04's and smaller front sprockets to make up for the girlie man ride it has now. :thumbsup:

• motomike137

Posted September 14, 2004 - 07:40 AM

Dude are you serious? Like it or not most of us make some mods to these things (03,04) to take that spike out of the first part of the power curve. And instead of running a smaller front you should run a larger rear, its much easier on the chain and swingarm slider. :thumbsup:

• YZ250F_Rider

Posted September 14, 2004 - 07:59 AM

yeh I'm serious. Based on the stories of the 03's and 04's, they really detuned the crap out of the 05's. I think yamaha may have went too far with the taming.

When you are forced to pop the clutch coming out of corners just so you can get it to accelerate out of it's own way, thats not riding.

I'll see when the new cdi gets here today or tommorrow if it's mainly a timing problem. The reason I said smaller front was due to the stock chain on it. It's cheaper to just put a smaller one on the front than it is to get another chain and sprocket for the time being. Since the chain is new for 05, I am curious as to how long it lasts.

But make no mistake it is not fast by any stretch. My 250's are hyper to be sure, but they should not be able to spank it.

• sjwr450

Posted September 14, 2004 - 08:01 AM

I think you got a lemon or something. Mine rips!

• YZ250F_Rider