Engine braking question

5 replies to this topic
  • rwhitlock

Posted June 24, 2001 - 06:40 AM

Hello all...

I am rather new to the 4-stroke world and love my '01 426.

However, I am wondering if there is a way to lessen the effect of engine braking when letting off the gas.

I have been trying to pull the clutch when getting off the gas, but I'm not sure that would end up being good for the clutch.

I mainly play ride, and trail ride. I do not motocross.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Rod

• MN_Kevin

Posted June 24, 2001 - 08:48 AM

YZ timing supposedly lessens engine braking...

------------------
'99 WZ/YR (you choose!) with ALL YZ mods, de-octopused, DSP Doug Henry airbox w/ velocity stack, FMF PowerBomb header, Stroker SX-1 silencer, SS front brake line, forked over by Pro-Action (and then fixed by me), OEM YZ tank, IMS YZ seat, gray wire severed, carb mods by Jim Dean, Andy in OZ, & Sir "Taffy" from Jolly Old England, AMA, NESC, and I use MOBIL 1 Oil, with ZERO problems.

• VOR503

Posted June 25, 2001 - 06:33 AM

Turning up the idle speed should do it.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Ron_in_SoCal

Posted June 25, 2001 - 06:46 AM

Engine braking can be a good thing!

Most ex-two stroke riders try to fight the engine braking effect that four strokes provide and use the rear brake like they do on two strokes. I'm a long time four stroke rider and when I hop on a two stroke I nearly kill myself on the first few corners I come to because I'm not using the read brake at all.

I suggest learning to use the engine braking to your advantage. When coming into a corner try downshifting instead of applying the rear brake. Its amazing how well this works once you get the hang of it.

Just my $0.02

• Tree_hugger

Posted June 25, 2001 - 07:04 AM