Terribles Town 250

19 replies to this topic
  • 600ish

Posted August 30, 2004 - 03:50 PM

I am interested in running the Terribles Town 250 next year just for the fun of it and run it solo. I'm not trying to be competeive, just to finish. I have plenty of east coast riding experience and have raced hare scrambles and consider myself an experienced rider in tight steep trails and FLA sand but no desert experience. Other than "Don't do it" I am looking for any advice, tips, etc to make this a good experience and not a nightmare. I am riding an XR600 with an IMS 4.0 gallon tank. What kind of tires are you desert guys using? fuel stops etc. Help! thanks.

• BajaBoundMoto

Posted August 30, 2004 - 05:59 PM

Check your PMs

• mikekay

Posted August 30, 2004 - 06:47 PM

Why terribles town? Its an interesting race. Pahrump is cool. you might run into Art Bell in the supermarket...or madame whatever...anyway that one is all about high speed rocks after high speed rocks after high speed rocks...i've done it solo on a 650R...it was rocky...took me 6 hours...but i had 8.5 gallons of fuel on board and got a flat, broke the sub-frame, etc.....oh yeah there are some woops in between the rocks...some guys like rocks.

Heres some tips:
1) Its rocky.
2) Nearby Crystal Nevada always has a couple rooms available, plus there is some interesting toursit attractions there...
3) the trophy trucks wont catch ya.
4) its easy to chase
5) its a long drive out west to race a XR600 for 6 hours over lots of rocks...why not Baja 500 or Vegas to Reno or Nevada 1000 (best bang for your buck?), or whatever.
6) might be a good idea to fly out and join a team or have a race support/prepared bike waiting for you
7) somehow i think i know what that PM says! Tim is the man... :thumbsup: :devil:

• FlyByWire

Posted August 30, 2004 - 10:31 PM

...Good luck with it. :thumbsup: :devil:

• 600ish

Posted September 01, 2004 - 10:47 AM