Mobil Red Cap?

5 replies to this topic
  • Bluebomber

Posted August 27, 2004 - 07:14 AM

I just switch over to Mobil Red Cap 15W/50 since it seems like so many Yamaha owners have had good results. I just drained my oil after 3 rides and it is really dark and smells sooty. I've always used Delo 400 15W/40 and changed the oil every 3 to 4 rides and never had the oil smell or look like that. Did this synthetic just clean out my motor? Any thoughts?

• Hurricane

Posted August 27, 2004 - 09:10 AM

I've been running it in my 98' WR for a couple of years now. I usually change about every three rides and it usually looks as good as it did when I put it in. My shifting gets notchy and I hit alot of false neutrals when I use other oils. Mobil is good stuff!! :thumbsup:

• redrider77

Posted August 27, 2004 - 01:37 PM

I use redcap too and get the same smell when I change my oil. I think its just the way it smells.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • ovrrdrive

Posted August 27, 2004 - 03:55 PM

I use it and the oil comes out pretty black after 2 or 3 rides.

However, the crap that was in it when I got it new came out alot worse when I changed it after 3 rides. I think the M1 is still washing that crap out.

• Eric_F

Posted August 27, 2004 - 09:44 PM

You want some nasty oil, drain it after break-in :devil: I have used Mobil 1 with the red cap since right after break-in and have nothing but praise for it. :thumbsup: Yes, it does smell different after you change the oil. I change mine every 200~300 miles. BTW, does anyone know what the YamaLube costs? I've purchased Mobil 1 with the red cap and it's $4.77 per quart from WAL-MART. Also, what does the red cap mean? I noticed some other colors, but the dealer said that the red cap is the only one to use. Is it something to do with the friction modifiers?

• Sox450

Posted August 28, 2004 - 12:48 AM