Trying a new modification XR650R

8 replies to this topic
  • smashinz2002

Posted August 14, 2004 - 06:38 PM

I don't know if any of you guys have tried this setup, but I did the following things this weekend and tried it out. The bike now hauls ass BIG TIME!! Huge, Giant Torque off the low end, Brutal mid-range!!If you haven't tried this out, you might like the resulting power increase, if you can hang on!
1. Bike was already uncorked/jetted with the 175 at 600' alt
2. New mod--Remove HRC exhaust tip, the can is now "open".
3. New mod--Install 180 main jet, all other carb settings
remain the same (b3e needle 3rd position, etc.)
4. New mod--Drill numerous 1/4" holes in the airbox to
improve breathing (backed by a riveted-in screen)
5. New mod--Mix fuel, 60/40, super-unleaded to avgas 100LL

I'm at 600' of elevation, so your jetting may vary. I'm not a bike expert or a racer, but I can promise you that the low-end and mid-range snap from these mods kicks ass, literally! Wick it open and hang the hell on!

• mikekay

Posted August 14, 2004 - 08:52 PM

yep-
Holes in the side cover.....
i put the stock pipe back on last year....take the HRC tip off--its just an open can when its race time. Add some race gas. Adjust the carb....and hang on!
Some ear plugs are a good idea as well...
Dont try this north of the border unless you are on a closed course!
Add a cam, carilo rod, hd valvessprings, and a higher compression piston-have the crank machine-balanced, bore it out to a 680---crack the throttle now THATS a rush!

• smashinz2002

Posted August 15, 2004 - 06:18 PM

Ah man that's gotta be awesome dude! Someday, when I have the cash, I've got to do the overbore and cam!