Gearing my WR for the sand (pic from yesterdays ride)

14 replies to this topic
  • jwashburn

Posted August 09, 2004 - 10:29 AM

I've got a '99 WR400 and I just started riding in the sand (2nd time yesterday). The problem is that my first gear seems to be pretty worthless and I'm not sure if that's a product of how a 4-stroke makes power or my gearing. I rode my buddies CR500 and that sucker snaps out of the sand when you crack the throttle. I'd like to have that same sensation when I twist my WR. What I experience instead is a slow dig out of the sand. Once I'm in second gear the bike does great. I've got a 14 tooth (13 on my first ride) front sprocket and a 50 rear. I was considering going to a 15. Am I being foolish in comparing how these two bikes compare in the sand?

Thanks for any suggestions. Here is a picture from yesterday.

- Jim

Posted Image

• jwriott

Posted August 09, 2004 - 12:02 PM

Well, your WR400 is no CR500. If anything, it's more like a CR250 so it's not going to snap out of sand or roost like a 500cc 2-stroke.

What's been done to the bike? You should make sure all the free mods are done and if you want it to snap to attention better, do the YZ timing as well.

The other thing is the WR gearing is super low in 1st gear. If you are drag racing someone or want to get out of the hole quick, try a 2nd gear start. Gearing it too high is going to make larger gaps in the gear box so it will be harder to accelerate quickly in the upper gears.

• Jethrro

Posted August 09, 2004 - 12:34 PM

When riding my wr 450 on the sand I very rarely use first gear. Your right I found that there is a little to much torque and not enough wheel speed to get what I want. Sand takes a lot to get used to. But what works for me is just start out in second and hammer it. You might find out it works for you to. I'm sure this speeds up wear on the clutch and related components but so does hitting the revlimiter taking off in first.

• Oasis_Flame