Just the basics, a horn and good mirror????

5 replies to this topic
  • J_DOGG

Posted August 06, 2004 - 04:25 AM

I have been using a hand horn and cheesy mirror since I got my bike a few months ago. It was enough to get my plate and sticker but now that I'm off road more I have found the hardware used just wont hold up to the abuse and keeps working loose.

I would like to go with a basic electric horn and sold mounting big or small mirror. I don't need a complete kit cuz I don't want blinkers and already have the tail light working.

What are you guys using and or what do you recommend?

Thanks

• Chris_from_Oz

Posted August 06, 2004 - 04:50 AM

I have an Acerbis folding mirror, that folds up when on-road, and folds down sort of in front of the handlebar crossbar when off-road. Over here the WR's come street legal, so I have the stock horn, but something small off a DRZ or similar should do the trick. :thumbsup: My horn is now tucked behind my headlight too, out of the way.

• bfly

Posted August 06, 2004 - 05:06 AM

The Acerbis mirror seems to work well. You can fold it out of the way when off-road.

Posted Image

This mirror seems like a better solution than the Acerbis one. I haven't tried it but it looks like it might work a little better. The Acerbis vibrates pretty bad.

Posted Image

I use a Zefal bell right now. It is out of the way and so far I haven't been pestered by the cops about it.

Posted Image

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • PumpkinHumper

Posted August 06, 2004 - 07:06 AM

Hows this for a Horn. Its a Radio shack personal alarm $10 and a honda kill switch. Wire the 2 together and wala instant electric horn. Works great and is fairly loud. Its 9v battery powered.

Posted Image

Posted Image

• J_DOGG

Posted August 09, 2004 - 05:59 AM

thanks guys I just picked up a personal alarm from radio shack, even smaller than the one pictured and will be mounting it this week.