Why do you have to loosen triple clamps before fork caps?

6 replies to this topic
  • per_s

Posted August 05, 2004 - 08:09 AM

Hi!
I want to check my oil level in the forks. Had a slight leakage and cleaned it with the 35mm trick.
I saw in the manual to loosen the top triple clamps before you try to unscrew the fork caps. Why is that?
What are the small brass screws on the upper part of the fork caps for?

I took it for a test ride on the gravel road cleaning the leaking seal. Accelerating on 2nd and then full front brake to compress the front suspension. I almost got it down to fully compressed, is that to soft front forks for MX driving on tracks? It seems like it to me but I'm not very experienced with the track driving and my YZ426.
Thanks a lot! :thumbsup:

• SLO_Rider

Posted August 05, 2004 - 08:18 AM

Because the top clamp will squeeze the fork tube just enough that you will not be able to loosen the fork cap.

The only way to find out if your forks are too soft for motocross is to ride it on the track. Keep in mind you want your forks to bottom out on the largest jump on the track.

• per_s

Posted August 05, 2004 - 08:27 AM

OK, thanks!

PS. I would say that luck is earned by the best.

:thumbsup:

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • RJB

Posted August 05, 2004 - 09:03 AM

Small brass screws are used for releasing pressure built up in the tubes (and for checking oil level). After heavy riding, you may want to unscrew these to let out any built up pressure in them. Other question already answered

• twistngrip

Posted August 05, 2004 - 04:03 PM

Small brass screws are used for releasing pressure built up in the tubes (and for checking oil level). After heavy riding, you may want to unscrew these to let out any built up pressure in them. Other question already answered