Dual Sport Tires

12 replies to this topic
  • Iggy1

Posted July 26, 2004 - 03:22 PM

I plated my XR650R uncorked for the street and tried Bridgestone TW's 41 front,42 rear. They work great as I'm running 50% hard dirt like fire roads with rocky trails and 50% pavement. The only thing is the rear didn,t last very long. I ride everyday anywhere form 80km to 450km and was wondering does anyone know of a tire that will last longer then a month, other than a street tire. I'm new to DS riding. The BRP is awesome on the street with the 15/47 gearing and don't want to go back to just dirt. Thanks for you help, Iggy

• jlpskydive

Posted July 26, 2004 - 03:28 PM

Dunlop 606!!! Good off, Good on. Great a niether but last along time.

• Buckarmadillo

Posted July 26, 2004 - 03:48 PM

I am very happy with the Metzler Karoo tires on my XR650L. Lots of traction off, fine on the highway (they start singing about 45 mph), and do just fine in town. Not enough time with them to tell you the wear rate.

• tirebiter

Posted July 26, 2004 - 04:09 PM

I've been facing the same dilemma for the past few years, and in all honesty, there's no dualsport tire made for the 650R that'll fit the broad spectrum.
If your gonna ride it on the street, get street tires, ditto for the dirt.
Spend the time changing tires, or wind up on your rear end.

sorry to be so blunt, but believe me...

• mikekay

Posted July 26, 2004 - 04:53 PM

The Michelin Baja and Desert tires cost 20-30% more than most, but they last a long ass time. Most Dakar racers run them, and they usually only use 4 rears in the 6000+mile race. If you dont spin the tire to much you can expect some decent milage. Traction is very very good off road. Might be a bit slippery on wet rocks, like all high milage tires.

• aussiexr

Posted July 26, 2004 - 05:00 PM

G`day