Oil Change

5 replies to this topic
  • Fyrnsmk

Posted July 20, 2004 - 04:15 PM

sup guys.. i am new to the world of 4-strokes and was questioning the amount of times to swap the frame filter... the one behind the skid plate.... i change my oil every 2 rides and have two rides on my new to me 00' 426. Thanks!

• yz426onNOS

Posted July 20, 2004 - 07:42 PM

I have never changed mine. Just do the copper seal. Unless it starts to look bad then your fine.

• Satch0922

Posted July 21, 2004 - 11:02 AM

IF your referring to the strainer/screen in the frame I would suggest cleaning at least twice per season. I have never had much in mine to clean out but better safe than sorry.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • RJB

Posted July 21, 2004 - 01:12 PM

Never changed/replaced mine and everytime I change the oil, I check it. Have yet to find anything in it

• jdd123

Posted July 21, 2004 - 01:53 PM

The screen only needs replacing if damaged. I like the twice a season suggestion. I was starting to check the frame screen every other oil change. Neither of my bikes have had any particles caught in the screen.

• yz426onNOS

Posted July 21, 2004 - 02:19 PM

I belive that screen is just there to filter out big debris that my eneter the system from filling and checking the oil level. I may be wrong though.

Related Content

Wiki
WR Camshaft Swap Info - last post by jamesm113

WR Camshaft Swap Info

Articles
  • 0 replies
Forums
Photo

First Hare scramble tips by dhend8

Dirt Bike   General Dirt Bike Forums   General Dirt Bike Discussion
  • Hot  33 replies
Forums
Photo

Is it worth it? (Cam and High compression piston) by macgi77

Dirt Bike   Make / Model Specific   Honda   CRF 150/230 F/L
  • Hot  36 replies
Forums
Photo
Motocross

Thinking about Yamaha 250... by Arctic Pride

Dirt Bike   Special Interest Forums   Pro Racing
  • Hot  491 replies
Forums
Photo

Megabomb Fitment by 288yz450