01 426 desert tank????

7 replies to this topic
  • jlsiowa

Posted August 16, 2002 - 06:14 AM

I know that this topic has been beat to death on this site but I still need some input. I have been riding desrt for fun the last two years and will start racing this next season. I want to put on a larger tank but am stuck with which brand I should get. I am running an FMF power bomb header so I think that eliminates the Ty Davis tank. So that leaves IMS, Clarke, and Acerbis. I can't find any pics of the Acerbis anywhere so I am not sure of the fit/finish. I don't want something that raises the front of my seat up much if at all. Both the Clark and the IMS look like they do. From past postings I am leaning toward the Acerbis. Please lend me your experience so I can get on with this decision. Any pics of the Acerbis would be appreciated too. Thanks! jlsiowa@juno.com

• Hick

Posted August 16, 2002 - 06:41 AM

Never seen a Clarke…

I have tried the IMS opaque and currently have a white Acerbis. I don’t know for certain that either will clear your header, both have a petcock on the right side (the Acerbis also has one on the left).

I do know that both will clear a PC header, which is up there pretty high, but on the Acerbis the petcock lever won’t rotate past the header so you would have to cut it off. The IMS is a little bit higher up, but not much. Either way you may find yourself worrying about a hot petcock.