suspension help

14 replies to this topic
  • precision28

Posted August 12, 2002 - 03:52 PM

I am new to motocross and need a starting point to help me with my suspension springs,compression, rebound the works I am 200lbs riding a 426 could I please get help on setting my bike up especially riders close to my weight with their settings

• TAC

Posted August 12, 2002 - 05:23 PM

I put a 5.6 shock spring and .48 for springs in my bike. I have also found that tightening up rebound dampning has taking the hit out of the bike as well as made it so itdoesnt feel like it is trying to throw me of s bad but adjustments need to be made to your what you prefer. i have also had the valving changed.

• DaveJ

Posted August 12, 2002 - 07:22 PM

Is there something you're not happy with?

• Cobra314

Posted August 12, 2002 - 07:42 PM

• barnum

Posted August 12, 2002 - 08:09 PM

Hi Dave,
I have alot of racing experience with the YZF model. I am in the 200 lb range also. I would say that you do need a little heavier springs.The 5.6 shock spring and the .48 fork springs would be very close to what you need. But more important is the internal valving that needs to be done. IT is very important to releve the harsh initial compresion dampening. For example Braking bumps ,pot holes, washboards. A good setting for your clickers is.
Shock comp @ 14
Shock reb @ 14
Fork comp @ 16
Fork reb @ 14
This is a good place to start for MX.
If you would like some help with your parts or revalving feel free to email me at
Thank Rob Barnum.

[ August 12, 2002: Message edited by: barnum ]

• dmxracing

Posted August 12, 2002 - 10:07 PM

Hey Rob, do you work for a shop? Do you revalve? I need my suspension revalved and I need new springs. I am 6'2" and 220lbs.

• precision28

Posted August 13, 2002 - 05:51 AM