NEED HELP!!!! 02 YZ426 keeps quiting at high rpm????

35 replies to this topic
  • ca412686

Posted July 14, 2004 - 10:55 AM

Hey guys, im new to thumpers and i have a new 02 YZ426 i my girl friend (yamaha dealer) got me a awesome deal on. Now to the problem. The bike works fine down low and up to mid throttle, but, when i go through the gears at higher rpm it starts to backfire like crazy when i slow down then quits on me. I was out all day in the woods and it worked great but as soon as i got on a logging road and up to speed it backfired alot then quit. So i figured it might be when it warms up or something but then i just left the house for a little run to check and it still works great down low but up high it starts to backfire then quit. I adjusted the fuel screw but that only does the low to mid throttle??? I also cleaned the air filter as well. Any help guys would be really great. Thanks guys!

Mike :thumbsup:

• ca412686

Posted July 14, 2004 - 11:08 AM

oh ya, i also took the fuel bowl off the carb and shot alot of carb cleaner up there too.

• MOTOPHILE

Posted July 14, 2004 - 11:12 AM

If you have ruled out jetting problems, maybe you are sucking air through the case seal. I have had that same problem and could not figure it out myself. Dealer diagnosed easily and fixed for under two bills. But it may be a dozen other things too... :thumbsup:

• ca412686

Posted July 15, 2004 - 01:39 AM

anyone else have any ideas?????

• Littlefoot

Posted July 15, 2004 - 06:34 AM

I had the same problem when I first got my '99 WR.
Changed the spark plug and it was fine.

• ca412686

Posted July 15, 2004 - 10:31 AM

thanks, now that you mention it, i had the same with my old street bike. I'll give that a try!

• cbff33YZ426

Posted July 17, 2004 - 08:40 AM