"No oil on dip stick"

11 replies to this topic
  • HAYESTI

Posted June 06, 2001 - 02:07 PM

I'm new to these "hyper" 4 strokes, I came to the 2001 WR-426 from a 1983 XR 500,HUGE differance!! But everytime I get back from a 50(or so)mile ride, there is no oil on my dipstick! I usually have to add approx. 1/4 of a quart, consistantly! Not a big deal really,I'm just wondering if this is normal..The bike does not smoke,leak, and I do fill it to the top line everytime before I ride.I have approx.700 miles on it, change the oil about every 200-300 miles, using Mobil-1 MX4T-fully syn. 4 stroke motorcycle oil..(Awesome shifting by the way)Just curious if it was happening to anyone else :)
Thanks.........Tim

• Guest_Guest_*

Posted June 06, 2001 - 02:19 PM

Tim, I have a 2001 WR426. I have not had any problems with oil consumption. When I change my oil, after I let it idle to check the pressure I usually fill it between the two marks. I also have never used Synthetic oil. I guess I'm a sucker and use the Yamahalube 4
even when I was into muscle cars I never used the stuff. The Yamaha oil doesn't seem that much to me considering what I have invested in my machine. Just my 2 cents!
Dennis :)

• Bill

Posted June 06, 2001 - 03:15 PM

Are you sure it's "burning" the oil? I have never heard of a WR, being a smoker. When you drain the motor for an oil change, how much drains out?

The reason I ask is, if you haven't run the motor, the oil drains from the frame to the crankcase. Always check the oil level after the motor has been warmed up.

Bill

------------------