XR650R Seat and Suspension Hardness...

6 replies to this topic
  • wear2xr

Posted July 08, 2004 - 08:34 PM

Well.. This is my first post here.. I have been riding an '83 XR500 for the last 5 years and have probably put 20,000 miles on it. I bought it from a friend that had put probably 60,000 miles on it. The fact is that the power was waning and I wanted something that I could wheelie through third gear like I used to do on my '81 XL500...

I could talk forever about the comfort of putting 300 BLAP'ng miles a day without a sore arse on my XR500, but now I have a 650R and its like sittin on a 2x6 between two POGO STICKS!

A typical ride for me is 40-100 miles of street before I lay down 20-60 miles of fire road and then 5-20 miles of single track. All the while I am carrying about 40-60lbs of camping gear strapped to a rack on the back of the bike.

Granted, steering the 500 was a work out thrashing the stearing head back n forth to keep you upright and somewhat straight on steep rutted rocky single track, but it would absorb the boulders nicely all while SITTING DOWN.

Seat height and foam absorbtion was just right for those times when youd have to spread eagle and paddle up some deeply pocked and rutted gash.

Now I have a new 650R. I bought it from a guy that put 90 miles on it and then promptly parked it in his garage after he figured it was to tall for him.

In the last couple of weeks I have put maybe 400 miles on the bike testing it on asphalt twisties, fire roads and single track (Ortega Trail, Ojai). Damned if I don't need a new KIDNEY :thumbsup:. (This is when you young MX'rs tell me why a seat shaped like a gymnast's balance beam is better!)..

If theres any of you out there that know what Im talking about and have made some seat mods I would love to hear about them.

Thanks for listning and I look forward to being a part of thumpertalk...

Keep Blapin..

• BugTeeth

Posted July 09, 2004 - 09:24 AM