Need Turning Advice - Hard Pack and deep dust

17 replies to this topic
  • CJ_Baran

Posted July 31, 2002 - 05:28 AM

I am new to the MX scene and have an 02 426. I have the hang of jumping and the whole front wheel up and front wheel down issue in the air. But can not figure out the turns.

Colorado is in a major drought so the track I go to has not been watered for a while...and no rain. Basically the track is drier and harder than my mother's steaks she used to cook!

The only feedback I get that I am doing something wrong is that I am eating it in the turns on the hard pack. It happens to0 fast to really analyze what I am doing wrong.

Here is what I do know...I am crashing going into the turns. The front washes out. This is before I am applying throttle. I usually appply front brake and no rear.

Do you think that when I release the front brake the rebound of the fork is washing the front out?

As for the deep stuff...I go very slow and can not figure out how you whip through full throttle in this stuff. Any pointers? Once I crash on the hard pack I become an ulta wuss on the deep stuff.

Thanks in advance for you advice.

• John_Lorenz

Posted July 31, 2002 - 06:13 AM

First thing is never use your front binder whilst in the turn, this is why you are locking up and sliding out.

Soft stuff is fun once you figure out how to work the bike. Many many factors in making the bike work in hard pack, Tires, air pressure, suspension, style and most of all experience.

First things first:

Here is what I do know...I am crashing going into the turns. The front washes out. This is before I am applying throttle. I usually apply front brake and no rear.

Again no front brake, Use back brake and compression

As for the deep stuff...I go very slow and can not figure out how you whip through full throttle in this stuff. Any pointers? Once I crash on the hard pack I become an ulta wuss on the deep stuff.

Soft Stuff + Slow = Get offs

Here is my opinion