First Enduro

2 replies to this topic
  • The_Missile

Posted July 05, 2004 - 05:58 AM

Well I've been riding my WR for about 3 yrs now and thought it was time to ante up and enter my first enduro. What a BLAST. The timing thing was a little puzzling at first but I just stuck like glue to the guys in my time slot and it all seemed pretty logical. Luckily it was extremely dry and I had been given ample time as a 'newbie' to arrive at the time checkpoints so no bother there.

The course was approx 100km much of it twisty turny single track and trees. I dont have much single track near where I live so that was somewhat new to me, but waaaay fun, as well as avoiding trees which I mostly managed to do with one notable camber turn on a lumpy 4x4 road with embedded rocks... quite near the start and with the adrenaline thumping...causing somewhat excessive speed...but a biiig grin. Anyway back to the off camber...too much speed, hit a bump which sent the front into a slight slide (too high tyre pressure and too stiff suspension didnt help) and all of a sudden the bike is in a washout slide which very nearly recovers, but didnt, and anyway now I'm heading towards a clump of small trees. :awww: :lol: Fortunately I wasnt going that fast so when I hit the tree head on with the bottom fork tube clamp (bike was at a 45 degree angle to the vertical) it stopped dead....I carried on of course and then I stopped dead by my pubic bone slamming into the handle bar mount. Ouch. Lucky not to slam the family jewels on the tank...thank god I stand most of the time...

needless to say, that HURT. The guy behind me stopped as I guess he had seen it and although I was bent double I managed to wave him on. After I stopped jumping about and swearing I checked the bike. NO DAMAGE at all. The only mark was a little bit of tree trunk mashed into the allen bolt head. :thumbsup: :devil:

Onwards, but with more adrenaline and less speed!! For a while anyway.