Spoke tightening..

6 replies to this topic
  • Yak

Posted July 22, 2002 - 11:07 AM

How do you check if a spoke is tight enough, and how do you tighten spokes without ruining the trueness of the wheel, I only have the spoke wrench that comes with the bike. Which way is tighten or loosen? Im very new to this and have been riding in alot of rock gardens lately, I want to make sure I dont bend my nice shiney excels! :-)

• Guest_mxrider426_*

Posted July 22, 2002 - 08:31 PM

The easiest way to tell if a spoke is loose is to go around the wheel and hit the spokes with a spoke wrench. Most of the spokes should make a nice high note. If one is loose, it will make a lower note. If you should find one that is loose, tighten it till it makes the same note as all the other spokes.

If you position the wheel so that the spoke you are going to tighten is at the top of the wheel, the spoke will tighten if you turn it clockways.

As for bending up the wheel, I don't think that would happen if you only tighten the loose ones. If you over tightened them all, you could, but if you over tighten one spoke, the spoke usually just snaps in half.

[ July 22, 2002: Message edited by: mxrider426 ]

• CJ_Baran

Posted July 22, 2002 - 08:58 PM

I used to build wheels for my road bicycle and tension the spokes all the time. Road bicycle rims are VERY finicky and 1/4 turn could bend your rim out of balance.

The problem with my motorcycle wheels is that I can not feel the tension of the spokes like I can on a bicycle wheel. My sense is that pinging the spokes with a wrench to hear the tone is about the best you can do to check the tension. Also, the rim is VERY strong so you should not worry about distorting it with a few turns...unless you break the golden rule of wheel building.

If you remember only one thing, remember to ALWAYS have EVEN tension on the spokes. If you don't, you will break spokes and nipples and even worse...pull the nipple through the rim!