Just bought my first XR650R (few questions)

19 replies to this topic
  • honkylips

Posted June 22, 2004 - 07:50 PM

First off, let me say that I'm brand new to the world of dirt bikes, but have been riding street bikes for years. I just bought a brand new '03 XR650R.

First question.....how the hell do you resist pulling wheelies from every stop sign???

Second question....I'll be using the bike for commuting now and then. I added a decent headlight and brakelight, but was wondering about getting some type of ignition switch, or hidden toggle ignition defeat switch for security purposes...any suggestions?

Lastly.....we've got some motocross tracks here locally and I was wondering if bikes like mine are welcome at mx tracks, or if people would look at me like a big dummy for showing up.

I gotta say, I'm pretty impressed with this bike so far. My current bike is a Harly Fatboy, and having the XR to play around on has been a total blast so far. I'm going to get new tires, since I'll be riding to all my riding spots, not trailering, and those knobby's kinda suck on the road. Any suggestions for a decent 50/50 dirt/road tire? I can't really justify a knobby tire when an honest 50 percent or more of my riding will be on pavement.

Cool site here, thanks for helping a newbie out.

Chris

• SaltyWalrus

Posted June 23, 2004 - 02:57 AM

Congratulations! You don't resist wheelies! Just don't let the cops see you...driving to endanger. Pirelli MT-21s are not bad on road or off road. I think a heavy, powerful bike with 50/50 tires would be a handful in the dirt. Sure, a few people might get a few laughs about the BRP at a MX track (more if you had 50/50 tires on), but who cares. Just go have fun. And if you go fast enough, no more laughing.

• chunkytfg

Posted June 23, 2004 - 03:04 AM

listen if i can go to an MX track on my BRP with supermoto rims/tyres on then 50/50 tyres should be no problem....just dont expect massive levels of grip :thumbsup:

• SaltyWalrus