04 WR450 Battery

7 replies to this topic
  • xcracer123

Posted June 14, 2004 - 02:21 PM

Has anyone experinced problems with their battery? I have had mine trickle charged several times. Won't hold a charge! It will turn the bike over fine the first time I attemp starting but then it's too low to turn the starter fast enough. It does recharge after running the bike for a while but then I have the same problem. I have had this problem since Feb when I bought The bike. It this just a problem with the bike overall or is the battery just faulty? My DRZ never had this problem!

• ddialogue

Posted June 14, 2004 - 02:54 PM

A lot of the 03's suffered from weak/faulty batteries. If you leave it on a battery tender during the week and that doesn't resolve it, I'd say replace that sucker! Mine has been rock solid and I've never put it on any kind of charger. :thumbsup:

• gomopar440

Posted June 14, 2004 - 03:36 PM

I used to work as a mechanic at a Yamaha dealer and we were always warned to check those maintenance free (M/F) batteries berfore their first use. If they didn't meet a minimum voltage threshold (I think it was 12.8v) they had to have a charge from a specific M/F capable charger. If they didn't measure up and were just put into service then they would be crappy from day 1. It sounds like someone at your dealer didn't give the bike a proper Pre-Delivery Inspection (PDI) before they turned it over to you.

• YamahaWR450FMike

Posted June 14, 2004 - 03:54 PM

170 miles on my new 04 WR450 and starts right up every time. No problems here.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • xcracer123

Posted June 14, 2004 - 05:02 PM

Thanks for the info. My dealer actually had to get it from another yamaha shop so they didn't assemble it. I'll have to take the battery up to them and see what they can do for me. I race for the shop so I know they will take care of it.

• Indy_WR450