Should I pressure wash?

19 replies to this topic
  • Guest_coyoteyz13_*

Posted June 27, 2002 - 11:47 AM

I read in the manual that I should not pressure wash my YZ 426. What is the reason for this and can I pressure wash it anyway. It would make my life a lot easier.

• JT1

Posted June 27, 2002 - 12:14 PM

Use Simple Green and water great and no risk of getting water in seals....

• Shane102473

Posted June 27, 2002 - 12:16 PM

I have always pressure washed my bikes with no problems and I have been riding for 20 years. Just take care when you spray around the wheels and the bearings. Plug the exhaust so you don't get water in it. I agree, it makes life a lot easier.

• skthom2320

Posted June 27, 2002 - 12:18 PM

You just want to be sure to stay away from all the bearings and seals with your pressure washer. Doing the underside of the fenders, skidplate, and tires/rims won't hurt anything!

• Hootna

Posted June 27, 2002 - 12:24 PM

The only people that should pressure wash a bike are factory mechanics that tear down their motorcycles after each race weekend. I have found that the extra time and effort it takes to wash your bike by hand will reward you with a clean and new looking motorcycle. Pressure washing is just plain lazy!! Let me add one ok, if you just went riding in the worst mud race of your life. But I personaly would be tearing down my bike afterwards anyway. :)

• MOmilkman

Posted June 27, 2002 - 12:33 PM

Pressure washing will not hurt a thing.
As the other guys said, stay away from the bearings and you wont have any problems.

Im not sure what your conditions are like where you ride but in my neck of the woods there is absolutley no physical way to get you bike clean with a bucket and soap. :)

• thumper4life

Posted June 27, 2002 - 01:10 PM

plug exhaust, golf tee in the hole on the cylinder, airbox cover from acerbis or twin-air if you wanna pressure wash your airbox

• Rather-B-Riding

Posted June 27, 2002 - 01:11 PM