Why didn't Yamaha copy Honda?

30 replies to this topic
  • bashn

Posted June 21, 2002 - 05:39 AM

It appears Yamaha has failed to seperate the tranny oil from the engine oil ala Honda. Too bad, because this helps prevent clutch and gear debris from circulating through thoose precious cams and bearings in the top end! With reduced oil capacity, this is even more important, as it takes less time to contaminate a smaller quantity of oil. This idea is certainly not new. It was used on British bike 50 years ago. Any thoughts on this?

• SUnruh

Posted June 21, 2002 - 05:42 AM

while what you say sounds good, think of this:

how many street bikes (that make WAY more hp) have seperate oil chambers for the clutch and crank?

even my honda cbr600f2 had just one.

• yzernie

Posted June 21, 2002 - 06:00 AM

Originally posted by bashn:
Any thoughts on this?

Quite honestly, I think Yamaha knows what they are doing. Enough said.

• Kirtwell

Posted June 21, 2002 - 07:03 AM

I'm no expert in the subject but how I saw it was the clutch fibers from the clutch are so small(microns) that the engine can tolerate that type of debris circulating. Of course not for a prolonged time. The oil needs changing per their recommendations.
Besides this is a race engine....meaning it's not designed for long life. It's designed for a high routine maintenance and replacement of worn parts on a regular basis.
I think Yamaha factored in all of the issues,
and probably didn't see it neccessary to seperate the oils.

Just my .02

• therapture

Posted June 21, 2002 - 07:03 AM

Originally posted by bashn:
It appears Yamaha has failed to seperate the tranny oil from the engine oil ala Honda. Too bad, because this helps prevent clutch and gear debris from circulating through thoose precious cams and bearings in the top end!

that's why it has an OIL FILTER...you know the thingy you have to change every so often because it gets full of "clutch and gearbox crud"