7 replies to this topic
  • yz450f_rider

Posted June 06, 2004 - 02:31 PM

Hi Guys, Im new to the liquid cooled thumpers i just got a yz450f '04 and i would like to ask some questions and i would really apreciate your answers. ok
1- is the motor suppost to be noisy, i mean i can really hear whats goin on in there is that normal?
2- any mods i should do the the 450f?
3- Do these bikes have any problems?
4- i just finished breakin it in, im gonna changet the oil do i have to change the oil filter?

thanks in advance guys ! :thumbsup:

one more thing...
do liquid cooled engines make more noise than air cooled engines?

• YZFmunky

Posted June 06, 2004 - 02:53 PM

Yeah the engine noise is normal. listen to a KTM 450 and you'll think your YZF is as quite as a mouse.
A good quick mod is to unplug the throttle position sensor at the carby, seems to smooth out the "hit" a bit. Get a good chain before the stock one kills your sprockets. i didn't know this until it was too late. If you've got some cash, get some nice bars and thats about it.
yeah change the filter the first few times as there will be a fair bit of crap come out the first few times. better yet, get a good stainless oil filter. they work better and faster and are re-usable so you'll save money in the long run.
YZF's are very reliable, i doubt you'll every have a problem with it if you do your maintenance properly.
enjoy the big blue beast!

• falshh

Posted June 06, 2004 - 03:36 PM

yea it sound like the valve and cams are out of adjustment but that is a normal sound, I evan checked my clearences before my first ride to make sure, but it is all good.
Change oil every ride and filter every 3rd that is what I do.I geared my rear sprocket up 2 teeth because of the tight tracks I ride and got a new D.I.D chain Im happy with the setup the low end punch is awsome!!!

• yz450f_rider

Posted June 07, 2004 - 08:04 AM

thanks for responding guys! :thumbsup: