03 clutch, hinson or stock?

7 replies to this topic
  • crazyadam

Posted May 27, 2004 - 05:31 AM

The Squid that I bought my 03 yz 450 from thought he was a mechanic, but he is just a simple minded moron!

I need a new clutch basket. The oil pump drive gear (secondary, between the clutch and oil pump) did not have the spacer? or was the wrong gear.... there was about 1\8th of an inch between the gear and the shaft...
so the gear was bouncing around , and wore half of each rivet off the back of the clutch basket!
new drive gear... $25, shaft $7, ... Basket $220, Or Hinson...
So what do you think I should do?

• RCannon

Posted May 27, 2004 - 06:34 AM

I have been using a Hinson for over two years and have been impressed with it.

During the install I had a few questions and some slight problems. I ended up calling the company. I was instantly transfered to Brian Hinson. Talk about someone who knows clutches...This guy was amazing. After dealing with him I would not bother calling anyone else.

• Doug_Caldwell

Posted May 27, 2004 - 06:58 AM

The cost was about the same (stock - Hinson) for me. So I put in the Hinson. I have had that set-up before and it was good. This has been no exception. It works great.

• TimFurryBalls

Posted May 27, 2004 - 09:52 AM

Call Rocky Mountain ATV for a Hinson basket. Cheapest around. Only about $190 for the basket plus rubber cushions. Make sure the model you order has those cushions or you'll have to order them separate.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • id250f

Posted May 27, 2004 - 07:44 PM

i've got the full hinson ... it's like butter ... night and day over the stock '03

• grayracer513

Posted May 27, 2004 - 08:26 PM