my yzf ran flawless till now :(

8 replies to this topic
  • sledneck

Posted May 31, 2002 - 09:05 PM

well my bike started like normal 2 kicks then it started to act up funny it wouldnt stay running unless i had it choked and if i gave it any gas, it would die right away if i had choke off it would die to, well neways i some how managed to run it down the road i thought maybe the plug was loaded up, well i got to where we were gonna ride and it just killed on me, same thing again only ran with choke on, and i couldnt give it any gas or shed die so i got it home put it on the stand and decided for the hell of it to kick it to see what happened, and it had barely any compresssion i can kick it all the way through without DC. help me please i need it im new to 4 strokes and im starting to get worried

• YZ400Court

Posted May 31, 2002 - 09:22 PM

Have you chacked the valves regularly? Tight intakes can cause poor idle. It sounds more like a carb problem. Maybe take apart the carb and clean it thoroughly with carb cleaner. You could have dirt where it doesn't belong.

I read you post again and now believe the valves are the problem (no compression). Have you ever adjusted them?

[ June 01, 2002: Message edited by: YZ400Court ]

• John_Lorenz

Posted June 01, 2002 - 04:22 AM

Ditto on Carb and Valves

Also noted and asked by yz400court, no mention of maintenance How often, or has it been done ?

• sledneck

Posted June 01, 2002 - 05:33 AM

ive only had it about a month and a half im gonna go mess with it today a little.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • YZ400Court

Posted June 01, 2002 - 06:20 PM

Well, what did you find??

• sledneck

Posted June 01, 2002 - 07:55 PM