Boit,Hick,Taffy,(paj)?

14 replies to this topic
  • yzf322

Posted May 31, 2002 - 04:23 AM

Hey guys i saw the post for paj in the forum for wr's and i was wondering if i removed the paj what effect will it have. I'm running a 45 pj and according to the specs that i saw im not getting enough air from the paj, im just curious since i don't have any paj to put in as yet. I'm in tennessee and my elev. is 4-500 ft.

• Hick

Posted May 31, 2002 - 06:31 AM

Opinions and effects will vary, and I have no experience at your elevation, but I would say that with a 45 pilot the stock 100 PAJ should work fine. If you want to try something different total PAJ adjustability is only about $14 away.

Carb Parts 216-524-1599

Air Screw 1014-817-2000
Coil Spring 16052-KM4-0040

Sudco 800-998-3529

Air Screw 021-230
Coil Spring 021-235

(better double check those PNs)

Hope this helps.

• Jason_in_KC

Posted May 31, 2002 - 07:06 AM

Hey Hick, I am interested in what you are saying here, are these combined parts to make an adjustable PilotAirScrew, thus replacing the PAJ? Similar to the adjustability of the fuel screw on these carbs?? I have been having trouble w/my ELN needle at the initial start up of the day, Taffy advised the 75PAJ w/my 40pj, but would this airscrew/instead of air jet replacement be a viable alternative? Do tell before I commence w/the ordering of jets etc...Thank you. Jason

• Hick

Posted May 31, 2002 - 11:49 AM

Yes to all three questions Jason.

Below is a table that shows how many turns out corresponds to what PAJ size. Sorry the table is so big, and for this big space below, I tried and tried and couldn't fix it. Won't go by the font size tag for some reason...

<table border>
<tr>
<td align=center><font size=”5”>
<center>Number of turns out 

on air screw </center>
</td>

<td>
<center>Approximately equal 

to this pilot air jet size </center>
</td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td>
<center>1/4 </center>
</td>

<td>
<center>45 </center>
</td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td>