need help starting my 01 426 when its hot

7 replies to this topic
  • Ilikecamarosanddirtbikes

Posted April 26, 2004 - 01:52 PM

Over the winter I bought an 01 yz 426 and I have ridden it this spring a couple times. But if I stop and talk to my friends or whatever the bike becomes the most frusterating thing in the world to start. Enough that I want to sell the thing. I know all about the hot start lever and all on the carb. I just have the hardest time starting when the bike is hot. When its cold I can start it no problem with 2 or 3 kicks. When its hot its more like 20 or 30 kicks. Its not like I'm not kicking hard enough either, I get my whole body into it and I'm going the right direction also Should I get a new jet or something, any suggestions are appreciated. :)

• bushy

Posted April 26, 2004 - 01:57 PM

You may be running too rich, so its very easy to start cold but hard to start hot? Just a thought, im still learning this jetting thing. :)

• Ilikecamarosanddirtbikes

Posted April 26, 2004 - 02:00 PM

any suggestions for jets at 650 ft. elevation (chicago) :)

• sirthumpalot

Posted April 26, 2004 - 04:46 PM

Are you positive that you're not touching the throttle when you kick?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • TonyDeCoster

Posted April 26, 2004 - 05:31 PM

I'm in Chicago too...here's what works on my '01 426:
42 pilot
168 main
2.25 out on the fuel screw
Disconnect the neutral switch completely
BK Mod
Dr. D Hotstart lever ( keeps me from touching the throttle when starting)

• Rider_727

Posted April 26, 2004 - 10:12 PM