picture of the 03 yzf in db.

12 replies to this topic
  • gal

Posted May 26, 2002 - 10:56 AM

i just saw the picture of the yz450f in the last db. issue.
looks great and as they said 10-15 pound weight reduction, i think ill go for one - but if the wr will come with the 'magic button' ill go 4 it.
engine and cases looks different so ill have to say goobye to a few of the mods i have on my 2000.

• GYT-Rider

Posted May 26, 2002 - 11:31 AM

Get that scanner working and post some pics, I want to see. Pretty please!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) :D :D :D

• Motoxjeff95

Posted May 26, 2002 - 12:08 PM

What are you talking about? I have a subscription to 7 different national MX magazines (including the one you listed), all they have shown is what is going on in EUROPE, and what it could look like, not the actualy production bike, please post pictures then...15 pounds....not likely, remember Honda "claims" there bike weighs 225lbs., but what does it "really" weigh... 233lbs. Look for a total weight savings of around 5-10 pounds, remember Yamaha still uses a steel frame, so weight lose is going to be hard... The '02 YZF weighs around 250 lbs...Look for the '03 to weigh around 242 lbs soaking wet, and be alot easier to start...I can't wait, I'm trying to decide between the CRF and the YZF, I can't wait untill dealer shows in the next couple of months to see what the bike will REALLY look like, and how much it will weigh. If you want the best reviews take a culmanation of magazines and see what they are all saying about the bike. Don't just look to "Yamaha Action Magazine" if you know what I mean...

• Hick

Posted May 26, 2002 - 03:03 PM

I read somewhere that the CRF frame is 3 pounds lighter and the engine 2.

So I don't think a steel frame precludes a heavy bike. Chrome moly would be nice...

• J.Hall

Posted May 26, 2002 - 03:51 PM