Clutch Basket?

7 replies to this topic
  • BigJoe

Posted May 23, 2002 - 07:58 AM

Is the Clutch Basket defective on 2000 426's? I have had mine for 2 years now and I am just finding out through this forum that there might be a potential for the basket to explode and ruin the bottom end. I have been riding it hard for two years and have had no problems just a little grabbing and noise when the bike sits for a while and starts to move in first gear. Is this normal? Is it one bike breaks the other last forever or is it just a matter of time until they all break. What is the best solution to this problem if any?

• Hick

Posted May 23, 2002 - 08:15 AM

The only thing I ever heard about “defective” clutch baskets was a rumor, published as fact, in MXA. I think your clutch basket will be fine.

The only problem I’m aware of with the ’00 clutch is it isn’t the ’01 clutch, which is worlds better. Do a search, four part numbers and about $40 will get you to ’01 clutch nirvana, so to speak.

I own an ’00 and an ’01 and the clutch difference is easily worth the time and effort to update.

Hope this helps.

BTW, the one problem I would worry about on the ’00 is the straight key that holds the counter balancer drive gear on the crank getting rounded off. If/when you are checking/updating your clutch please check for play between crank and counter balancer shaft.

• mike_dean

Posted May 23, 2002 - 10:05 AM

Early '00 426's had clutch baskets with squared off corners on the bottom of the tangs, latter models had rounded corners. The tangs that hold the plates would break, mine had the revised model but I replaced it with a Hinson anyway. Mike

• Shawn_Mc

Posted May 23, 2002 - 10:29 AM