Z-Start gap on my 426 at .88"

2 replies to this topic
  • Dano426

Posted April 21, 2004 - 03:58 PM

I install my z-start, but the gap measures .088" its like I am missing two whole plates???? :) I will have to admit this is my first time working on a clutch, but it just doesn't add up. I sent Rekluse an e-mail with no response after 24 hours? ???

Here is what I have install for the clutch pack starting from the top ---- Friction Disk --- Rekluse (.55) Drive Plate --- Stock Drive Plate ---- and then six more fiction disks and drive plates stacked. Is it correct to have the Rekluse and the Stock Drive Plates together? Seems a little odd? Where do I start adding plates and should I add the stock friction plate the directions told me to take out???

The directions also told me to use 7 mounting shims over each stud and other posts here at TT people said they used 9 ??? Any thoughts???

Any help would be greatly appreciated
Thanks
Dan

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • John_Lorenz

Posted April 21, 2004 - 06:13 PM

Have you called Rekluse

Don't wait for Emails Call the tech support line.

.88 is way off

Are you using two gage's 180 degrees apart?

The version 3 zstart says 7 shims use 7 shims, I did this on mine no worries.

If you have followed the directions you would actually start from the first plate and work down word one at a time until you have the correct Install Gap.

I questioned placing the two Plates together as well. Do as the instructions say, the first two plates are the Rekluse supplied plates :)

You should end up with Rekluse Pressure plate, 2 Rekluse steel plates, then a friction plate.

So in general an clutch will have Fiber disk, Steel plate, Fiber disk, and so on in a clutch stack.

Just follow the Directions Verbatim

MAKE SURE YOU USE TWO FEELER GAGES

• Dano426

Posted April 23, 2004 - 03:47 AM