Looking for input on YZ400...

19 replies to this topic
  • Eric_T

Posted May 19, 2002 - 05:15 AM

I currently ride a XR400. I have been biking for years, but this is my first dirtbike. I've been riding off-road for about 6 months now.

Two of the guys I ride with have YZ400's, and they are planning to get new bikes at the end of the year. I was thinking about buying one of their YZs to replace my XR.

What type of performance differences could I expect by moving to the YZ? I ride in the sand 90% of the time. I have a really hard time keeping up with these guys, especially on hills and sharp turns. I'm sure riding skill has a lot to do with it too, but would the YZ help me out in these areas compared to the XR?

Thanks.

• YZFLORIDA

Posted May 19, 2002 - 07:01 AM

LAST AUGUST I BOUGHT A 99 YZ 400. IT HAD BEEN 25 YEARS SINCE I HAD RIDDEN A DIRT BIKE, MY LAST ONE WAS A 1973 TM 125. I THINK THE 400 IS THE BEST CHOICE I COULD HAVE MADE IT HAS MORE POWER THAN I CAN USE MY SON AND I RIDE FTR HARESCRAMBLES EVENTS ALL OVER FLORIDA YOU WILL LOVE THE HIT YOU GET LIKE A TWO STROKER YET ALOT LESS MAINTANENCE.
:) :D :D I SMILE EVERY TIME I RIDE IT . DID NOT SPEND ALOT BUT DOES MORE THAN I EXPECTED

• sirthumpalot

Posted May 19, 2002 - 07:41 AM

IMHO look for an '01 or later. From what I've read here this seems to be the first year which they polished out a lot of the minor bugs (counter balancer key replaced with splined shaft, grabby clutch fixed, no need to modify the accelerator pump to fix a bogging problem).

Other than that I say go for it, I love my YZF and would buy the same bike again given the choice.

• Hick

Posted May 19, 2002 - 08:14 AM

Eric,

I never thought I’d ride a four stroke that did well in the sand, and therefore never thought I’d want to own one, until I rode a riding buddy’s YZ 400. I ended up buying a new 426.