Another valve adjustment question

6 replies to this topic
  • dvn

Posted May 09, 2002 - 01:04 PM

Hi all. Just checked my valve clearance for the first time. They were all in spec just over the tight side of the range. I have around 15 to 20 hours on the bike. My question is this: Do you think that they will get any tighter or should I be past that stage with this many hours on it? One thing that kind of concerned me was that there is no mark on the flywheel that lines up in that opening when the marks on the camshaft gears are lined up with the edge of the head. The bike runs and starts great, so I can't believe the timing could be off. Have you guys found that some of these flywheels are marked wrong or not marked at all? I did see three small lines on the flywheel but they do not line up like the manual says they should. Also the manual shows a large single line as a marker. I hope I'm not asking stupid questions but I'm new to the 4 stroke thing. Any help would be great. Thanks. P.S. This is on a 01' YZ 426.

• MikeOK

Posted May 09, 2002 - 01:21 PM

My flywheel marks seem to be off also, at least they don't look anything like in the manual. To check my valves I always use the other method mentioned in the manual- make sure the cam lobes are opposing each other. I have well over 100 hours on my bike and I've never had to adjust them. One is getting on the tight side but has changed very little along the way. If they are in spec I will leave them.

• John_Lorenz

Posted May 09, 2002 - 01:33 PM

Chk this link out it explains some of what you see

Follow the yamaha-factory manual to the letter

Valve Topic On TT

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Boit

Posted May 10, 2002 - 01:28 AM