Escalation of Gear Idle break. What to do?

19 replies to this topic
  • Richter

Posted April 13, 2004 - 06:07 AM

After the gear idle broke on my 10hr old '04 YZ450 I took it back to the dealer (Island Cycle Sales, Staten Island NY)to find out what happened and see if it was under warantee. I found out the gear idle broke in half. I was acused by the dealer of kicking it to hard, then fouling the plug and eventually not using the hot start. First, none of these acusations were true. Secondly, the mechanic had not even broken down the bike yet. Then I find out the part is on back order and Yamaha will pick up all of the costs to fix it. I think fine.....if the parts on back order it must a common problem. (Some insight - I was a pro level rider almost 15yrs ago and want to get back into racing in the 30+ class)

Anyway, after a torturous three weeks I finally got my bike back. The first day I take it out the engine seizes. I call the dealer imediately and I am told to bring it back. I bring the bike back and the dealer starts accusing me of using the wrong gas..then persists on telling me that it is a detination problem. I know when an engine seizes, so I told him there was no oil getting to the engine. When I checked the dip the oil was full and barely warm...it should have been hot after 25min of riding the track. Plus, you know that nock right before it seizes. The dealer gets angry at me and begins to tell me that it could not be an oil problem and that there is no way it could be his mechanics fault. He again trys to tell me that it is probably a detination problem...how would he know he did not break it down yet nor was he riding it.