Backfire from full throttle to fully closed

10 replies to this topic
  • Redwoods

Posted April 12, 2004 - 05:31 AM

I think I have my bike jetting dialed in, but am not sure since I am new to the jetting scene. I had the throttle fully opened going down a slight hill, on asphalt, and when I let off (fully closed), it backfired once and then a little popping. Is this normal for a 4 stroke? Does this tell me something about my jetting?
p.s. I also have a PMB insert I just installed
Thanks for any input

• Indy_WR450

Posted April 12, 2004 - 07:41 AM

use a 160 (60+ degrees) or 165 (cold weather) main and stock needle #5 for the cooler weather in Vail right now. 155 main and stock needle #4 is for the heat of summer. :)

• JVP

Posted April 12, 2004 - 09:28 AM

I had a similar problem, but when I started mixing 111 race gas with 92 pump gas the deceleration popping and backfiring went away. I also turned my fuel mixture screw out a 1/2 turn more.

• N7SLC

Posted April 13, 2004 - 02:53 AM

I think I have my bike jetting dialed in, but am not sure since I am new to the jetting scene. I had the throttle fully opened going down a slight hill, on asphalt, and when I let off (fully closed), it backfired once and then a little popping. Is this normal for a 4 stroke? Does this tell me something about my jetting?
p.s. I also have a PMB insert I just installed
Thanks for any input

Backfiring and popping on decel usually indicate a lean condition
on the pilot/slow air circuit.

• Redwoods

Posted April 13, 2004 - 04:25 AM

Lean condition on the Pilot/slow air circut? What does this mean? Do I increase my pilot jet or turn out the fuel screw?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • N7SLC

Posted April 13, 2004 - 03:50 PM

Try increasing the pilot one size...

• Indy_WR450

Posted April 13, 2004 - 04:35 PM