Fouled Plug and Red Hot Pipe

7 replies to this topic
  • typhoon

Posted April 24, 2002 - 04:39 PM

Hey I just got this new 2001 the other day. Only rode it 4 times and the 5th time it didn't start. Fouled the plug. It was only like 40 degrees today and wanted to ride. I got it going again with another plug and before I stuck everything back together I saw that the head pipe was glowing red about 2" from the head, right below the radiator. Is this normal? Only ran it with the gas from the float bowl. I'm an auto tech and what I've found that causes that on cars is late timing and too much fuel. You guys got any idea's. Haven't even run 5 gallons of gas through it yet. But love every minute of it.

• Mark_Cantrell

Posted April 24, 2002 - 05:01 PM

The glowing pipe is normal, especially if not in sunlight. If it glows real fast it is probably too lean, since you were idling, on the pilot. Leaner is hotter EGT. But don't panic, glowing pipes are normal.

The fouling is most likely due to starting technique, especially if last bike was a two stroke. It could also be starting and not letting warm up before killing it, running with choke on too long etc. But most likely problem is twisting the throttle intentionally to prime it with AP (like pumping pedal on a carb car) or accidentally from two stroke habit. Don't prime much if any, even if it doesn't foul mine, the plug will be wet and I will have to blow it off with compressed air if I 'prime' it. Putting right hand on front brake master cylinder will cure the twisting while kicking problem.

good luck,
mwc

• cowboyona426

Posted April 24, 2002 - 06:21 PM