Need More Power ASAP!!!

16 replies to this topic
  • javelinmxer

Posted April 14, 2002 - 04:12 PM

This is my first year in the Pro/Expert ranks and I've done pretty well in two races so far. But since I am bigger than the average rider (220lbs at 6'4) my powerful 4stroke is only keeping me even with the playing field. Last year on a 2001 YZ250 a KTM125 could run with me on a straight. This year on the 426 I was dead even with a CR250 on the straight. I am thinking of changing the gearing to allow me to get in the higher gears quicker, but what else can I do to get more power at a reasonable price.

• krazyq

Posted April 14, 2002 - 04:25 PM

I started running a 14 front and a 48 rear sprocket.The bike is much faster in the straights and it lost no bottem end power.

• teamtoxic

Posted April 14, 2002 - 04:26 PM

Nitrous oxide my friend. :)

I know there are a few big bore kits out there that will bump the displacement up to 444cc. I believe they're somewhat costly and your bike's reliability falls but that's a way to get some more HP. Do a search here on TT or Google and I'm sure you'll find something.

Good luck
TT

• IBWFO

Posted April 14, 2002 - 05:51 PM

I'd go with a Yosh or FMF Titanium pipe and header, and get an airbox. You might try checking into the Thumper Racing 450. I have ridden one and the bike hauls.

D

• motojunkie

Posted April 14, 2002 - 05:51 PM

Buy a 520SX.....problem solved. :)

• osheen

Posted April 14, 2002 - 07:23 PM

Jeez, if you think you got it bad, I race a YZ250F with the 520s and such in the Vet Expert class and I get waxed bad on the straights but eventually I find my way around them. I like telling them at the end of the race "it's a 250".

• javelinmxer

Posted April 15, 2002 - 05:22 PM

Too bad the 520 will be illegal with the 450 max being the limit by the AMA. Thanks for some of your suggestions, and I was wondering if anyone had the big bore kit from ProAction done to their bike and what they thought of it.

• av8tor1