- - - - -

Suzuki LTZ50 Generator Problem

• Please sign in to reply

10 replies to this topic
  • roylo

TT Bronze Member

130 posts

Posted January 06, 2017 - 01:51 AM

Hi. I've been having a problem with my 2015 LTZ50 not running properly. It runs but will sputter and sometimes stall, especially if you ride it at a low rev for an extended time and then accelerate. Then it just stalls.

I have checked many things over time and I am suspecting the generator coil is faulty. I have done multimeter voltage and resistance tests as per the manual and to me it looks like it's faulty but I am not an expert so can't say for sure if the generator is at fault.

What I want to ask is would the bike still run if the generator coil was faulty?

Edited by roylo, January 06, 2017 - 01:51 AM.

• ASP1227

TT Bronze Member

302 posts

Posted January 08, 2017 - 09:38 AM

Yes, I had a utility quad have a stator got out once. First, check your battery, make sure it's got enough water in it. Then check your stator and make sure it's up to factory spec. Just follow the instructions and you'll be good. Electrical stuff is very picky when it comes to specifications, if you have just a little too much resistance or just a little less voltage than what the manual says, there is a problem. If you think it's not good, replace it.

• roylo

TT Bronze Member

130 posts

Posted January 08, 2017 - 03:49 PM

When I test the generator with my multimeter as the manual says, it should read 20V but I am getting no reading at all. Can this be possible if the engine can still run or am I doing something wrong?           

Also, all resistance testing for the generator as per the manual registers nothing.