- - - - -

09 yz450 seized after running great new to 4 strokes

• Please sign in to reply

10 replies to this topic
  • jonwayne14

TT Newbie

12 posts

Posted October 08, 2016 - 12:08 PM

Hey guys I just picked up an 09YZ4 50 in a trade it ran great everything sounded great when I met the kid wrote it for about five hours total and now it's seized we were at a sandpit riding for about three hours it started stalling in neutral while idling I didn't think anything of it then it tried to stall while running in gear I just gave it more throttle it felt as if it was running wth 100 percent power then died I let it sit for like 20 minutes when to kick it the kicker moved about half way very hard now it's completely locked up I'm not a mechanic but I'm not a retard either I could diagnose it wth a little help I've been finding it could b a timing thing carb thing or it's just blown up so suggestions to diagnose please this is my first 4 stroke but I've had bikes forever

• romansam

TT Newbie

23 posts

Posted October 08, 2016 - 02:44 PM

Hey man I had a similar problem not to long ago. I was riding it up a ramp on my toy hauler and it slipped and landed hard on its side well running. After that I could kick maybe one kick then then next kick was impossible. I could literally stand on the kicker and it wouldn't move. Kind of felt like it built a shit tonb of pressure up.. found out it was the timing chain.. super easy fix .. YouTube yz450 timing or tdc and it took me maybe 15 minutes.. all you need is a socket set a flywheel puller which is like 10 bucks on amazon. If you want to check the timing easily all you have to do is pull the 2 large hex bolt screws on the left side cover and take the top cover off and spin the nut in the bottom whole until the marks line up.. if they don't line up follow the instructions on the video and it's cake man. Just did this for the first time 3 days ago

• romansam

TT Newbie

23 posts

Posted October 08, 2016 - 02:46 PM