- - - - -

WR426 Street Legal wiring question

• Please sign in to reply

10 replies to this topic
  • 1slowDR

TT Member

42 posts

Posted September 15, 2016 - 11:45 AM

I have a 2001 WR426 that has been converted to street legal, I've gotten the police inspection done and have it registered. Now I would like to remove the added battery pack and go back to AC power only. I know DOT mandates the lights have to turn on without the bike running but I'm not worried about that. My plan is to run a Trail Tech 8" race light with the boatman conversion kit to avoid blinding people, and then do an LED taillight and signals, from what I've researched I believe my stator puts out 130 watts so I should be ok by my calculations but I'm not good with electricity. So my question is will this work or is it a terrible idea?

• FatCowKiller

TT Member

29 posts

Posted September 19, 2016 - 09:24 PM

I don't have a good answer for your question but I recently converted my wr450f with the tusk enduro kit and trail tech vapor, make sure to get a wiring harness unless you really like individual wires. I tried to piece together a kit on the cheap and it was a nightmare an honestly not worth the time and I ended up wasting money. To calculate if it will work you would need to know how much power each component draws and depending whether they are in parallel or series may make a difference too. but from what it sounds is that your using the battery with no external power so I think you should be ok, don't take my word on it though........

• 1slowDR

TT Member

42 posts

Posted September 20, 2016 - 06:10 AM

Thanks for your reply, it has a kit on it I believe, it has a battery that looks to be made up of a bunch of AA batteries, that is really my biggest problem with the whole thing. I bought it already converted, So I don't know who made the wiring harness on it.

• FatCowKiller

TT Member

29 posts

Posted September 20, 2016 - 07:05 AM