bog on bottom - did it again! Arrgh!

10 replies to this topic
  • skthom2320

Posted March 31, 2002 - 05:32 AM

OK - my 2001 426 has never had a bog on the bottom. I developed one a couple of weeks ago that wouldn't go away with fuel screw adjustments so I cleaned the carb. Wooohooo! It went away.

It came back on my last ride! Arrgh. I was very careful with how much oil I used on the air filter. Or I so I thought.

Anyway, this time I cleaned out only the pilot air jet and passage (on the air box side of the carb) and put the carb back in. Voila! Bog gone again!

So I guess I am an expert on how much oil is too much.

Newbies beware! If you have a bog down low, look at cleaning out your pilot air jet/passage and adjusting the fuel screw before you look elsewhere.

Regards,

Steve T

[ March 31, 2002: Message edited by: skthom2320 ]

• John_Lorenz

Posted March 31, 2002 - 05:41 AM

Question
Why is it in need of cleaning so quick ?

Are you sure the Air filter is sealed properly ?

Do you have a filter on the Gas line ?

Is cannondale really gonna Make it ?

• skthom2320

Posted March 31, 2002 - 05:59 AM

All the same questions running through my mind!

(1) Is the air filter sealed?

I have a pro-seal gasket and always make sure that things are well seated. I also always check for signs of dust in the airboot and clean out the airbox religiously.

(2) DO you have a filter on the gas line.

Yep - first thing I did to the bike.

My theory is that I REALLY overoiled it the first time around and that there was still filter oil in the air boot. When I ran my finger on it (the airboot) it was a bit sticky. Oops. I was a little nervous with how much oil there was on the inside of the filter that one time...

Hmmm.

If it happens again I am going to look for something else but I am pretty sure it was just that doggone overoiled filter.

• John_Lorenz

Posted March 31, 2002 - 06:34 AM

:) Just a suggestion