2015 - 450 need handling advice

16 replies to this topic
  • motomike894

Posted June 22, 2016 - 05:33 PM

I have a 15 yz450 and it's by far the worst cornering bike I've ever owned but lot people I know with them don't seem to agree as much.

I have my suspension sprung and revalved for me.

I have tried lot different stuff between less sag or more sag, clickers, fork height.

No matter what I do it wants to stand up in corners and come out / over rut especially in longer ones.

It also feels like the front ends just sticking out there right corners it doesn't knife like all my previous suzukis or last Honda.

SO anyone have any tips with setups on these I'm a vet expert rider i jump everything and am a big guy not height but weight wise.

Right now i have forks at 0mm, and sag is like 116-118mm last I checked free sag is 39-40mm

This is what my suspension guy told me to do I'm still not happy could just need a better revalved or I don't know what lol.

• 15thumper

Posted June 22, 2016 - 06:44 PM

I'm no expert but I've had my 15 450 for a year and those suspension settings are way off, I'd fire your guy try this it works well for me but I run devol adjustable pull rod forks up 20mm yes 20 mm sag always 105

• 15thumper

Posted June 22, 2016 - 06:54 PM

You will get alot of answers on thus and alot of different settings but I've never heard anyone running that much sag, I run 110-115 in desert but also lower forks, any other time I'm at 20 mm up 105 sag I'm 6'1 225 the lower I go on the forks the more unstable the front end gets

• motomike894

Posted June 22, 2016 - 07:16 PM

When your saying 20mm are you talking from the top of fork cap or the bottom of fork cap ? I've heard people measuring that different i always measure from the bottom where the fork tube would start.

Thanks I'll be trying some stuff this weekend.

• harmetp

Posted June 23, 2016 - 04:48 AM