very odd problem with timing chain

7 replies to this topic
  • rockthumper32

Posted May 24, 2016 - 11:52 AM

Newbie here!!

I have a 99YZ400F  that i have been putting back together for a while, got to the point where I'm putting the cam chain on. I get the chain over one cam sprocket, go to put it over the other cam sprocket and the chain is so tight that it pops both cams out of there journals. I checked, and double and triple checked that the cam guides are in correctly and that they are the correct ones even. The chain tensioner is not even installed, i have ordered two other cam chains from rockymountain ATV and both have come up to short. 

I cannot find any specs as to what the stock chain should be, so i have no base to go off of. The chain that came off the bike, when you lay it out and pulled like you would an old fan belt to find the length, measures 14 7/8 inch, the chains im getting from rocky mountain atv are measuring 14 3/4 inch. 

I have a hard time believing that this thing stretched that much!?!  but I am no expert. 

any advice guys!?!  I have no idea where to go from here... 

• grayracer513

Posted May 24, 2016 - 12:40 PM

You cannot assemble the cam chain onto the cam sprockets with both cams seated in their bearings, for one thing.  The correct procedure is to run the chain over the exhaust cam and verify the correct timing mark position of that cam relative to the crank.  Then, position the intake cam in the center of the head, between the cam saddles, and place the chain over that with 12-14 link pins between the two "12 o'clock marks" and roll the cam back and down into place.  If it comes out timed wrong, reverse it out and adjust the chain position accordingly.