Demo day 16' WR450/450FX and 250FX..hmmmm!

15 replies to this topic
  • Jason Stevens

Posted May 10, 2016 - 04:28 PM

Well crap, got the ultimate kitchen pass on Mother's Day to run from KC down to south Tulsa for a Raines Yamaha Demo day! I start off by saying "well crap" because I had in my mind the 250FX was gonna be my next scoot! I just sold an 07' 400XCW, prior to that I had an 11'YZ250F set up for woods! Background, I'm a 43 yr old Vet A enduro rider, race a few select events each spring and fall and play ride anywhere between KC and San Diego when I can. The 400 was butter smooth and was revalved to handle most everything decent. I am in good shape, so bike weight really isn't a big issued for me, i'm 205lbs, and always set my suspension up for me. YZ had Smart Perfomance, good stuff. 

I get to the event, meet Jason Raines and talk about the bikes etc. Jason is very helpful and knowledgeable about all these bikes and can with certainty advise what works and why with each machine! 

This area had close to a 2mile woods loop set up, tight turns, some quick straights and well rutted corners. Being Mother's Day there weren't many riders so I was able to make multiple laps at a time on each bike, then swap and go right back out to compare. 

I started off on the 250X smoker. Nice bike, starts so easy its silly. Nice power, felt like my 07' 250xcw smoker but with more boost everywhere! The controls were set goofy and I wasn't comfortable thus I didn't spend much time on it. Great bike but I drove 4hrs for some e-start thumpers! 

Jason told me his favorite bike was the WR but to ride the 450FX first then switch to the WR.