08 yz 250f blown motor swap to 450f.

6 replies to this topic
  • briffett

Posted April 27, 2016 - 04:33 PM

hey guys. i have a yamaha 2008 yz250f that i currently blew my motor. the motors shot and is not repairable. i am looking to drop a 450f motor into my 250 frame. After a little bit of researh i have discovered that the 450 motor will fit into my frame but my issue is the 250 electrical such as the c.d.i unit or magneto and other parts will not support or give the 450 motor enough power to run. I’m not a total expert on doing this and need some guidance on where to go and what i need to get to make this swap doable. if anyone has done this before and can help me it would be greatly appreciated!

• stick_man

Posted April 27, 2016 - 04:40 PM

I'm just guessing here but I'd bet you would need all the electronics from the 450

• HappyAndy

Posted April 27, 2016 - 05:13 PM

You can go to any of the many online parts vendors that have OEM parts breakdowns and see if the part numbers for the electrical parts match between the two models. You might be surprised. I doubt the cdi will match, but the coil and other stuff very well might. (This is assuming both are kick-start & carb).

On a different note, what makes you so sure that the 250 engine can't be saved? Did the connecting rod fly out the cases? I've brought more than a few unrepairable engines back to life. Usually I find unrepairable really means I can't afford it, or I want an excuse to get rid of it, or I don't understand what's wrong.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • bodedibblesjr

Posted April 27, 2016 - 05:59 PM

Buy all new oem 450 electrical except like kill switch and stuff like that

• toten

Posted April 28, 2016 - 11:57 AM