Suspension setup

9 replies to this topic
  • 0bigsilver6

Posted April 25, 2016 - 10:25 AM

02 yz426f

I just got off the phone with devol suspension here in WA and they gave me a $600 price tag on revolving my suspension and setting it up for me. This seems awfully high, how involved is it to buy the parts and go through it on my own? Or would I be better off just forking over the cash to have the professionals do it?

Edited by 0bigsilver6, April 25, 2016 - 10:26 AM.

• cowboyona426

Posted April 25, 2016 - 10:54 AM

I paid $495 and received a discount to have my last set done (not by Devol).  That's not that expensive.  Doing it yourself I have no experience with, but there are a lot of self-help videos on YouTube and helpful folks on the forums.

• toten

Posted April 25, 2016 - 12:36 PM

Is that on bike or off? Does that include springs too, or just valving? 

If you were buying Racetech parts the fork valve kit and the shock valve kit are $170 each, so $340. $260 labor to revalve fork and shock isn't outrageous. Throw in springs ($130F/$115R) and parts alone aren't very far from that $600 figure.

• 0bigsilver6

Posted April 25, 2016 - 01:02 PM

Is that on bike or off? Does that include springs too, or just valving?

If you were buying Racetech parts the fork valve kit and the shock valve kit are $170 each, so $340. $260 labor to revalve fork and shock isn't outrageous. Throw in springs ($130F/$115R) and parts alone aren't very far from that $600 figure.

That price was springs, valves, oil, seals, basically a complete rebuild. With everything off the bike. It would be $60 more if I take the whole bike. Sounds like I should just have them do it.

• toten

Posted April 25, 2016 - 02:16 PM

Huh, that's cheaper than I would've expected. Makes me wonder whether they're just changing the shim stack rather than the valves. Shims are cheap... did they mention what brand valves? Although it's far more important to have the right shim stack than the best valves.