2003 wr450f has low rev limiter at all times

7 replies to this topic
  • yamhammer

Posted April 16, 2016 - 04:31 PM

Hi noob here.
Got a 2003 wr450f a little bit ago. Rode it in the dirt with no qualms twice. Being a noob I never got in it real hard.
Put a street legal kit on it.
First time I rode it on asphalt I notice what doesn't seem right.

I read somewhere about a 7500 rpm limiter that kicks in on neutral and supposed to be 12k or so in gear.

It just feels like it's hitting at what must be 7500- I have no tach for a 1 cyl...

In first it hits the limit around 25, second is almost useless, 4th and 5th finally don't seem too bothered by it around freeway speeds.

Certainly can barely consider popping the front wheel up.

Runs great otherwise. It just gets the telltale flatline rpm, hard miss of a limiter. Seems to make no difference what gear it's in, same rpm in neutral.

With neutral switch connected or undone.

Neutral led on speedo I installed indicates neutral switch works properly.

I have also checked that the light is not causing this. It was my first thought, cut the wire to the light on the side of road, made no difference.

Read about neutral wire to ecu could be undone to do some strange trickery and undo neutral limit. Not sure I wanna do that either but could be good tinkering for diagnosis

• still2smokin

Posted April 16, 2016 - 07:05 PM

Pretty sure the rev limiter does not kick in until 11,000-11,500. 

You have something else going on , first clean the carb .....gently , no Chem dip or actual carb cleaner .

Download a manual from Yamaha , link is the FAQ section . 

Change your plug and using the Yamaha manual , test the electrical components and then check the

valve clearances . I had a similar issue that ended up being a bad connector to the coil .

Tons and tons of good info here in the WR section is easily had if you do some searching .

Look for and be wary of crap work the PO did .