Yamaha - Using Scotts Steering Damper Settings

10 replies to this topic
  • RMK800

Posted March 16, 2016 - 01:13 PM

I have never used a steering damper before but just ordered me one from Scotts for my YZ450FX.  I have tried to do some research on this mod and what settings are useful.  If you have a Scotts damper could you please post your settings and some comments on how those settings are working for you and the terrain you ride.  I believe this would be helpful for those of us that have never used a steering damper before.   I realize this could be posted in the general discussion forum, but really would like Yamaha users.    Thanks.

• RMK800

Posted March 16, 2016 - 01:17 PM

As mentioned I have done some research on this within TT and with some magazines.  I found a magazine that did a review and settings for Scotts.  I found it interesting that they decreased the sweep and added .5 to the High speed.  I'm not sure if this is for MX or trail. 

I also found some good threads where a member was posting his thoughts and basically summed it up with the base valve, where you better off having it on the loose side then on the tight.  His thoughts were that if the base valve is to tight it can hinder riding ability and skill.  Since I have never even ridden with one, I'm not sure what to think about that.

• tmeyer37

Posted March 16, 2016 - 01:34 PM

As mentioned I have done some research on this within TT and with some magazines.  I found a magazine that did a review and settings for Scotts.  I found it interesting that they decreased the sweep and added .5 to the High speed.  I'm not sure if this is for MX or trail.